Halloween

Andrick enjoyed his first Halloween dressed up as a lion!

I made his costume in spite of my less-than-stellar sewing skills. Typically I stick to sewing squares (pillows, curtains, etc.), but I branched out here and had a lot of fun. First, it’s a real challenge to find baby clothes that are a plain, solid color with no embellishments. L’ovedbaby makes them, but they do run small. And by small, I really mean narrow. These are skinny baby clothes! I bought a sleeper in 6-9 month size that just fit by Halloween, even though Andrick is still wearing 6 month clothes in other brands (and he’s not a particularly chubby baby). Using an existing base for the costume made the project a lot easier–all I had to do was add the tail and the white patch on the chest. For the mane, I found a pattern for a baby bonnet (no need to add the ruffle or make it reversible) and added loops of felt around the face.

In typical Andrick style, he was ready for bed by 6:30p, so he didn’t get to pass out candy to any trick-or-treaters. Oh well, maybe next year he’ll be able to stay up a little later. He sure looked adorable while he lasted.

Leave a Reply

