The eczema chronicles

It’s been two days since we stopped using the prescription hydrocortisone on Andrick and 6 days since I eliminated wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, nuts, and seafood from my diet. And the eczema is already coming back. I expected the dryness to return, but I hoped the red bumps would stay away for at least more than two days! He’s also been fussier than normal all day, which I suspect is related to feeling itchy. So I don’t think the diet is helping. My newest (ever evolving) theory is that gluten could be the culprit. I had eliminated wheat and was eating oats every day for breakfast (because seriously, if you can’t have wheat, eggs, dairy…what the heck else do you eat for breakfast?). Up next, I suppose I’ll eliminate gluten altogether.

Someone needs to start a support group for breastfeeding moms whose babies have an allergy or intolerance to a certain food. I mean, I guess there is always going to be some issue tripping you up with a baby. If it’s not a rash, it’s sleep or colic or diaper rash or who knows what. But since eczema is our particular flavor of challenge around here, I would love to talk to other moms who’ve been through it or are going through it right now. Anybody out there?

One thought on “The eczema chronicles

  1. I’m sure this is a dumb suggestion but I’m wondering if you have tried eliminating any items like lotions, soap, shampoos, powders, etc.? My son literally would develop a rash after 1 exposure to any type of cleanser/lotion besides the Aquaphor products. No Aveeno. No Burts Bees. Nada. Just Aquaphor. Sorry I don’t know what your routine is but my pedi also suggested less frequent bathing, maybe only once or twice a week. You could also do a sponge bath type thing, that way exposure to water is limited. I think nowadays there’s even chemicals in our water that can irritate their skin. Don’t mean to make any presumptions, just sharing what seemed to help my son. Good luck to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

