Eight

That’s the number of consecutive hours Andrick slept last night! Here’s a picture of us celebrating at 4am:

I don’t really expect this to become a regular thing at this point, but it sure was nice. I had a feeling something was up. He went to sleep at about 7:30p in his crib. Most nights, he stirs sometime between 9 and 10, and then he either gets up at 11p or 1a for his first feeding. Last night, no stirring until 11. I was able to get him back to dreamland without him waking himself up, and then I went to sleep after that. Imagine my surprise when I woke up at 3:30a with engorged boobs and an 8 on my Itzbeen! (Side note: if you have or are about to have a baby, check out the Itzbeen. It’s a very cool thing to help you keep track of how long it’s been since you last fed, diapered, etc.)

I’ve been thinking a lot about Andrick’s sleep and wondering if there is anything we should be doing differently. He doesn’t take very long naps most days. We put him in his crib (in the nursery) at bedtime and co-sleep for the rest of the night. That first stretch in the crib is always the longest of the night. I don’t know if it’s because it’s the first stretch or because it’s more peaceful for him to sleep in his room. I’m curious to try keeping him in his crib for more of the night and see what happens. The problem (and the reason we prefer to co-sleep) is that we have to actually get up to coax him back to sleep. But maybe it would be worth it if we got to sleep for longer stretches? It seems worth experimenting.

Leave a Reply

