Yellow birthday cake

When Andy told me he wanted yellow cake with chocolate frosting for his birthday, my mind went straight to a box. But I thought no, surely somebody out there has a killer recipe for yellow cake from scratch. Thank goodness the SmittenKitchen came through for me! This recipe worked perfectly. The cake is crumbly and moist, and I realized that baking a cake from scratch is worlds easier if you don’t have to go through the process of melting chocolate.

Speaking of which, I topped the cake with sk’s chocolate ganache frosting, which I’d used last year for Andy’s chocolate on chocolate cake. Except I managed to actually have enough frosting to cover the whole cake this time around. Live and learn! I also used cake flour for the first time, and I have to say I could tell the difference. The batter was so fluffy, and the cake rose a lot more than I expected it to because the flour is so light. I think the cake flour is also to thank for the crumbly texture of the cake itself.

We had such a great time on Andy’s birthday! It’s my favorite holiday every year.

By the way, can you spot my sister in those pictures?

3 thoughts on “Yellow birthday cake

  1. you’re literally the sweetest person ever. love that your favorite holiday is your husband birthday! and is amy on the iphone?

Leave a Reply

