Five for Friday

Kitchen tools to splurge on

I’m all about a bargain, but there are some kitchen things that are just worth spending the big bucks. Here are a few of my favorites.

  1. Cast iron cookware. I guess it says a lot about me that I once passed up a Kate Spade handbag in favor of a Le Creuset pot. That’s the only cast iron piece that’s currently in my collection, and I LOVE it. The heft, the color, the uncanny ability to go from stove top to oven. Not only is it a fantastic tool for cooking, but I feel fancy and special when I use it. And if that’s not a reason to spend money, I don’t know what is.
  2. Kitchen-aid mixer. Don’t be fooled by imitators. You need this baby and its power. And its many fun attachments. So far the juicer is my favorite. And a word of advice–I hear from a lot of people that they never bother pulling out their mixers because they’re just too heavy. Keep it on the counter! They’re all so pretty and come in a variety of colors (mine is bright blue), and you’ll use it more often if it’s easy to access.
  3. Good knives. I had a set of cheap knives for a long time. Since I upgraded, I really wonder why I didn’t do it long before. Having good knives preserves the quality of the item you’re chopping, and it saves you a lot of time. Plus, using a knife with a good heft and sharp blade is a lovely feeling. You don’t have to spend hundreds, but don’t go for the baseline stuff.
  4. Coffee pot. I admit this one is subjective–coffee is not everybody’s cup of tea (see what I did there?). For me, it’s a crucial pleasure every morning. And I’m pretty picky about my coffee. We have a Cuisinart Grind and Brew coffee maker. I load it up with water and beans every night, and it starts brewing right around the time I get in the shower in the mornings.
  5. Anything from Sur la Table. I’m not sure if it’s actually the stuff they sell there or just the way it’s all sort of cluttered, making you feel like you’re uncovering one wonder after another as you wander around. Either way, it has all the quality of stuff from Williams-Sonoma without the stuffyness of the store. And I never cease to be wowed by the products they offer because they solve problems I didn’t even realize I had. Case in point: the Grate-and-Store Set. It saves me from getting cheese all over the counter, it measures for you as you go, and if you grate too much–hey, no big deal! It’s already in a container! Genius.

What are the best things you’ve ever splurged on for your kitchen?

2 thoughts on “Five for Friday

Leave a Reply

