S’mores cookie bars

I’m up super early this morning because I had to drop Andy at the airport for an early flight, so I thought I would spend my spare time sharing a perfect start to any day: s’mores cookie bars.

That’s right. You don’t need a campfire, or even an official-looking microwave contraption, to make the perfect graham-crackerey-chocolate-marshmallow treat.

You just need an abundance of Hershey bars and a willingness to get a little messy. Because let’s face it: I can’t do anything involving marshmallow creme without making a huge mess.

Don’t worry–the mess is worth it.

S’mores cookie bars

I got this recipe from a coworker a few years ago, but I don’t know the original source. If it’s yours, let me know and I’ll link to you.

  • 1/2 c unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla
  • 1 and 1/3 c all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 c graham cracker crumbs (I use my meat tenderizer to crush them in a large ziploc bag)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 king-sized Hershey bars (or your preferred milk chocolate)
  • 1 small jar marshmallow creme
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a small glass baking dish.
  2. Using a stand mixer or beaters, cream together butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla.
  3. Whisk together flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. Add to butter mixture and beat on low until combined.
  4. Divide dough in half. Press half into the bottom of the baking dish in an even layer. Place chocolate bars over dough so you have an even layer of chocolate.
  5. Spread marshmallow creme on top of chocolate. Exercise patience.
  6. Flatten remaining dough into small slabs and place on top of marshmallow creme. Try to cover all marshmallow, but it’s ok if a little bit peeks through.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes, until the top is lightly browned. Cool completely (several hours or overnight) before cutting into bars.

These are extremely rich. The first time I made them, I cut my bars too large, and we had to cut them in half. But if that’s how you roll, don’t let me stop you.

2 thoughts on “S’mores cookie bars

Leave a Reply

