The best sugar cookies

Regardless of what you seek in a sugar cookie, these cookies will be your answer. They’re light and pillowy, with a cake-like texture, and a touch of saltyness to balance out the sweet. Not to mention, the raw dough is phenomenal. I should note that I’ve never met a raw cookie dough I didn’t want to to devour before baking, but still. It’s so good.

I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but I can devour a dozen of these cookies without even realizing it. Yum. They work well with sprinkles, frosting, or just a drizzle of lemony glaze. I usually make them for Christmas, but since I didn’t get around to making Christmas cookies this year I decided to make Valentine cookies.

If you need a last-minute sweet for your Valentine, give these a shot. I promise he (or she) won’t be disappointed. Sadly, I cannot take credit for this recipe–it comes directly from the Fannie Farmer Cookbook (one of my favorites for basic recipes and cooking tips). What I can take credit for is redacting the option to use milk or cream. Please, for the love of all that is sweet, use heavy cream. You’re already eating a sugar cookie that’s packed with butter and fat and calories. There is absolutely no reason to skimp on the cream.

Sugar cookies

From The Fannie Farmer Cookbook by Marion Cunningham (I have the thirteenth edition)

This recipe claims to make 40 cookies. I don’t know who could possibly get 40 cookies out of this (maybe somebody who doesn’t make cookies just for the pleasure of eating the dough?). I get about 2 dozen.

  • 1/4 lb unsalted butter
  • 3/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla
  • 1 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1 and 1/4 c white all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream butter with an electric mixer, then gradually add sugar. Beat until light.
  3. Add egg, vanilla, and cream. Continue beating until thoroughly combined.
  4. Combine flour, salt, and baking powder in a separate bowl. Slowly add to the wet mixture and mix on low until well blended.
  5. Arrange by small spoonfuls onto baking sheets, at least 1 inch apart. Add sprinkles if desired.
  6. Bake for about 9-11 minutes, or until edges begin to brown just slightly. Immediately remove from baking sheets and allow to cool completely on wire racks.

Tip: in case you can’t eat them all in one sitting, these freeze extremely well.

Leave a Reply

