Pork chops with onions

I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time getting motivated to cook dinner during the week lately. It just feels like so much effort after work, although I have no qualms about spending a whole Saturday cooking. I don’t know what’s up with that.

This is a great weeknight recipe. Taste-wise, it’s better than business as usual, and it takes very little time, thought, and effort to make. After we ate it, I had just enough time left over to enjoy a bath in my fancy new bathroom (yes, I am a little obsessed).

You start by searing the pork chops, and then transfer them to the oven, which makes this an excellent time to use a cast-iron skillet or pot. I love my Le Creuset pot almost as much as I love the new bathroom. Anyway. This is one of those dinners that’s not much to look at, but it tastes good and is too easy not to try.

Pork chops with onions

  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, sliced into rings then sliced in half
  • 2 bone-in pork chops
  • 1/4 c fruity white wine, such as sauvignon blanc
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • sea salt and freshly-ground pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a large skillet. When oil begins to shimmer, add onions.
  3. Season chops with salt and pepper. Heat remaining 2 tbsp olive oil over medium-high heat in a cast-iron skillet or pot.
  4. When oil shimmers, add chops. Sear for about 3-4 minutes on each side. Chops should be golden-brown.
  5. When onions begin to soften, add wine and lemon juice. Cover and simmer.
  6. Transfer pork chops to the oven and cook for about 5-7 minutes on each side. Remove from oven and transfer to a plate. Let stand for about 10 minutes.
  7. When liquid has mostly evaporated from onions and begun to thicken, remove onions from heat. Spoon onions over chops and serve.

In order to have this dinner with the least-required amount of effort, we  ate it with a small side salad. If you’re feeling adventurous, I suppose you could serve it with mashed potatoes and peas or green beans.

2 thoughts on “Pork chops with onions

  1. Just saw your oatmeal pancakes on Food Press and had to check them out. Anything with chocolate chips sounds wonderful to me. Then, I saw your recipe for pork chops and had to check that out, too! WOW! They both look great. I enjoyed your blog. Thanks, Judy . I will try your recipes!

Leave a Reply

