Where have I been?

Wow, has it really been a month? Oops. Well, for all (both?) of you sitting out there wondering where I’ve been all this time, here’s a quick recap. We survived the great migration from our little urban nest in the Midwest to a slightly larger, significantly more suburban nest in the great American South. Actually, I think North Carolina is technically considered a Mid-Atlantic state. Anyway, that’s a long-winded way of saying that the move went pretty well for a big move. My brother was a God-send for heavy lifting–both of boxes and maintaining our sanity. We’ve been enjoying the heck out of having a fireplace, including the regular fixing of s’mores.

Pretty much immediately after we arrived we had to buy a car, as we’d been entirely dependent on public transit in Chicago. So that was an interesting and slightly stressful process that I am so thankful to have behind us. It’s still a pretty big novelty to just jump in the car any time we want to go somewhere, with nary a thought to whether we’re appropriately dressed for the weather, what combination of buses will be required to get where we’re going, and how we’ll manage to carry things home from shopping. We then drove said car about 500 miles north to spend Christmas with my family in the Pittsburgh area.

On Christmas eve, my sister was rushed to the hospital for emergency surgery. The whole saga is a long one, and I don’t really know that she’d want me to be posting the details here, so I’m just going to say that I’m extremely thankful that she’s on the mend. We spent pretty much the entire time in PA at the hospital with her, and then headed back to our new home before new years. That gave us nearly a week of unscheduled time to finish unpacking, etc, before I started my new job. And while we did get a lot done during that time, it’s also when the stress of the several weeks leading up to it finally caught up to me, and all I really wanted to do was sleep and sleep and sleep. And sit in front of cozy, crackling fires of course.

I started my new job on January 4, and so far so good. As much as I really appreciated having a full month off between jobs, I have to admit that it’s been good to get back to work and back on a regular schedule. And that means back to blogging, too, not to mention continuing to make our house a home and pursuing my new year’s resolution to not wear wrinkly clothes. So now that this post is out of the way, I’m committing to some new food this week, as well as a little tour of our new kitchen. It’s good to be back.

4 thoughts on “Where have I been?

Leave a Reply

