Cranberry sauce

I can officially add cranberry sauce to my list of things that are deceptively easy to make from scratch, yet for unknown reasons I’ve always bought the ready-made version. For whatever reason I thought I would give it a whirl this year, although I still bought the canned stuff just in case the homemade didn’t turn out. It tastes SO much better than canned. And I love canned cranberry sauce. In fact, I should mention that I absolutely love pretty much anything cranberry. I drink Trader Joe’s sparkling cranberry juice like it’s water. And every year on Thanksgiving, I think I eat at least a can’s worth of cranberry sauce.

I just can’t get over how simple it was to make my own sauce. I think I’ll be making this a lot more, just to enjoy the sweet-but-tart wonderfulness on a regular basis. I pretty much just followed the instructions on the bag of cranberries, although I cut the sugar back a little and dissolved it in the water to lower the sweetness. I considered adding a little lemon juice, but it’s not even necessary. It is taking all of my willpower not to eat the entire container that is cooling in my kitchen as I write.

Simple cranberry sauce

  • 1 12 oz bag fresh cranberries
  • 1 c water
  • 3/4 c raw sugar
  1. Add sugar and water to a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. If you like your cranberry sauce sweeter, use a full cup of sugar.
  2. Wash cranberries thoroughly and make sure there are no stems attached to any of them.
  3. When water boils, add cranberries. Bring back to a boil and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Sauce is done when all skins have cracked and berries have lost their form. Cool completely, then refrigerate to serve chilled.

If you are making this for Thanksgiving, it’s a simple dish that you can easily prepare up to a couple of days before your dinner. Enjoy!

One thought on “Cranberry sauce

  1. We always make two types of cranberry sauce. One is a raw cranberry orange sauce that I really like putting on turkey sandwiches after the Thanksgiving holidays are over.

Leave a Reply

