Week in review

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted, mostly just because I haven’t been doing a whole lot of cooking lately. Last week, I had a work trip to Colorado Springs. It was my first time in Colorado, and while the altitude was rough on me (I don’t know how people stand the constant feeling of dryness! Do you get used to it if you live there?), it was so beautiful. Here’s a crappy picture of the view from my room at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort.

This is just a tiny piece of the beautiful mountain view. The meeting I attended for work was in a conference room that had a full, gorgeous view of the peaks, and I couldn’t get enough!

There were a couple of deer grazing in the grass right outside my room. Hello wildlife! We sure don’t see much of you in Chicago. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of deer–one ran smack into the side of my car when I was in high school. That plus a few other near misses with deer and cars has them on my freak-out list (at least when I’m driving). But still, these guys (girls?) were pretty cool and didn’t seem like the destructive types.

When I came back from Colorado, my brother Mike was in town for a couple of days. On the downside, his van was broken into while it was parked just a couple of streets from our place. Someone smashed the driver-side window and took some CDs and his GPS (but left behind some truly valuable stuff, thank goodness). The plus side of that incident was that it meant we got to have him around for an extra night, which led to a very late evening of highly-competitive board games.

On the food side, Mike and I shared a yummy sandwich from one of my favorite delis in the city, Bari Foods. I don’t think they have a website, but in case you’re ever in Chicago you can find them at 1120 W. Grand Ave. It’s a small Italian grocery with a deli in the back that carries excellent meats and makes the best sandwiches. We also got a great Saturday brunch at the Twisted Spoke. I love their French toast. They use crusty bread and add orange liquor to the egg mixture–yum! Andy’s favorite thing there (it’s within a very close walking distance of our apartment) is the Elvis toast.

I did do a little cooking yesterday. We had Orange chicken for dinner with a side of rice. While I was making that, I also made the filling for Chicken enchiladas. Once the filling was done, I let it cool completely and refrigerated it. Tonight when I came home from work, I assembled the dish, added the toppings, and baked for about 30 minutes. It tasted just as good as if I’d done it all at once and made for a really simple weeknight dinner.

I’m off on another work trip later this week, to San Francisco. After that, I need to get to work on my Thanksgiving planning. Happy November!

 

3 thoughts on “Week in review

  1. I took a trip to Denver for work years ago and loved the mountain views. Will you be posting Thanksgiving recipe recommendations? It’ll be just me and the hubby for the first time ever, so I suppose I should try my hand at cooking a dinner.

Leave a Reply

