Pillows

I’d like to interrupt my own flurry of cooking to tell you about a little project I took on this weekend: making new throw pillows for our couch.

But first, a little background. Our couch is old, and in pretty poor shape. Let’s just say it’s been well-loved. We’ve spent many a weekend lounging on it, and many an overnight guest has spent the night on it. It’s one of those things we really ought to replace, and someday we will. It just never seems like the right time to go out and spend a bunch of money on a new couch.

That said, I appreciate a good quality throw pillow to snuggle with when watching tv. And is it just me, or are throw pillows absurdly expensive? Any pillow that looks cute and is decently comfortable seems to cost a silly amount of money. Since I don’t think I could get $50 for my couch on the black market, I absolutely refused to spend upwards of that on pillows.

Thus was born the idea of making throw pillows myself, using the sewing machine I received from my grandmother for my wedding shower. It’s been sitting in its box since that day, just waiting for me to break it out and go to town. And now that I used it, I totally have the sewing bug. Well, for simple stuff anyway. Like pillows.

I made two white pillows from a paisley-pattern textured fabric, and a smaller pillow in the colored paisley. I just love looking at them, especially because they are the gorgeous pillows I always wanted at a teeny fraction of the price. I can only imagine I’ll be making more pillows soon–these were fun. Anybody need anything sewn? Keep it simple and I’m on it.

5 thoughts on “Pillows

  1. Love it. My couch is probably in even worse shape than yours, so maybe I need to do the same. My sewing machine is actually older than I am, but it does the job. I keep all my sewing projects to “square” things. Curtains, bedding, pillows, tea towels, all good. When stuff has to do thing like fit, on a person, yeah… not so much.

  2. Beautiful!!! You’ve been talking about doing this for years! Looks like you did a great job! I can’t wait to see them in a few weeks!:-)

Leave a Reply

