Carrot spice muffins

Fall’s in full swing, as we all know, and a few of the blogs I read are living it up by baking every possible pumpkin thing they can come up with. Mouthwatering examples can be found here and here–please promise me you’ll come back if you click those links! There may not be any pumpkin here just yet, but I can offer you something almost as good.

I too love baking with pumpkin, but I didn’t have the foresight to stockpile it last year. And while I’ve considered just buying a fresh pumpkin and hacking away at it, I haven’t gone there yet. So, until canned pumpkin makes its grand appearance in the stores here, I’m enjoying Carrot spice muffins. It’s no coincidence that Andy thought these were made with pumpkin the first time he bit into one–they’re flavored with enough pumpkin pie spice to trick you into forgetting you’re eating carrots.

Not to mention the fact that I baked them in the most adorable liners, which I found during my pumpkin beer binge at World Market a few weeks ago.

These are quite easy to make, but I include the pre-carrots photo above as a caution that the batter doesn’t exactly look like your typical muffin batter. Before you put the carrots in, it’s very dry–almost like a pie crust or scone. The extra moisture from the shredded carrots helps everything to gel, but it’s still a lot thicker than what you may be used to.

Carrot spice muffins

  • 1 and 3/4 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c raw sugar
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 3/4 c plain yogurt
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 egg
  • 2 and 1/2 c shredded carrots
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line 2 muffin pans with paper liners or grease with your favorite non-stick spray.
  2. Stir together flour, sugar, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.
  3. In a smaller bowl, whisk together yogurt, butter, honey, and egg.
  4. Create a well in the flour mixture and pour the liquids into it. Mix gently until just combined, then fold in carrots.
  5. Spoon into muffin pans and bake for about 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a few muffins comes out clean. Immediately transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.

These don’t have much of a shelf life–maybe 3 days before they start to get a little moist (and moldy quickly thereafter). If you can’t eat them in time, I recommend freezing the leftovers. In fact, you could easily double this recipe and have a bunch in your freezer. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Carrot spice muffins

  1. Thanks for sharing your recipe! Anything with a warm spice at this time of year is just yummy! I, too, have been sharing pumpkin recipes on my blog. And actually, I have Pumpkin Swirl Brownies in the oven getting ready to share on my next blog post! I hope you get some pumpkin near you soon, too good to pass up! 🙂

    Nicole

Leave a Reply

