Corn chowder

Maybe this is just me, but I feel like fall is staging a stubborn resistance this year. Tomorrow is forecast to be 90 degrees in Chicago, and I hear there’s a similar state of affairs on the East Coast. Does this stop me from making, enjoying, and writing about soup? No way.

A recipe for corn chowder found its way into my stack of stuff to make sometime last year, and a recent post over at My Baking Addiction inspired me anew. When I was pleasantly surprised to find sweet corn at the farmers’ market this past weekend, I figured it was the season’s way of telling me to make some soup with it. What better way to combine one of the best parts of summer with the cool, crisp fall air?

Or, you know, crisp air conditioning. I’ll take whatever works to get me in the mood to eat soup, because this stuff is so good. Also, it’s very easy to make and I imagine it would freeze well. My intention was to freeze at least half of it, but somehow it all got eaten before making its way into the freezer. Oops.

Corn chowder

Adapted from Jamie’s version, plus some random unidentified recipe in my stack

  • 5 strips of bacon
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/3 of a fresh jalapeno, diced finely
  • 1/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp chipotle seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 tbsp chives, chopped
  • 4 c vegetable stock
  • 2 c chicken stock
  • 4-5 Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 5 ears fresh sweet corn, removed from cobs
  • 2 c heavy cream
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp freshly-ground pepper
  1. Cook bacon in a large pot or Dutch oven until crisp. Use tongs to remove bacon and set aside to cool.
  2. Reduce heat and add onion and celery to bacon drippings. Cook until vegetables begin to soften.
  3. Sprinkle vegetables with flour and mix until they’re completely coated. Cook for about 2 minutes, stirring frequently.
  4. Add vegetable and chicken stocks and bring to a boil. Once boiling, add cream, potatoes, and sea salt. Boil rapidly until potatoes soften (about 15-20 minutes).
  5. When potatoes begin to soften, reduce the heat and add corn, jalapeno, garlic, chipotle seasoning, red pepper flakes, chives, and pepper. Simmer for about 8 minutes, then taste and adjust seasonings if necessary. Simmer until all flavors are well-combined to your liking.
  6. Crumble bacon into small pieces. Ladle soup into bowls and serve with bacon garnish.

As you’ve probably noticed, this soup packs some serious heat. If you don’t like spicy food, feel free to reduce the amount of–or eliminate–the jalapeno, chipotle seasoning, and red pepper. I served this with a small salad, fresh rolls, and a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

