Eggplant Parmesan

For those of you wondering what I did with the rest of the eggplant (I’m sure it’s been weighing on your mind), I decided to make an old standby favorite: eggplant parmesan. I generally love Italian food in just about any form, and eggplant parm holds a special place in my heart because of the first time I ever tried it.

My brother and I were staying over our aunt’s house. Our sister may have been there too–I can’t really remember–but if she was, she was far too young to really figure into this story. My aunt announced that she was making us eggplant parmesan for dinner, using fresh eggplant from her garden. We’d never tasted eggplant before–heck, we probably had never even heard of it. Being typical little kids, we threw huge fits about how we HATED eggplant and this would be the WORST dinner EVER! We were classy like that. Anyway, my aunt somehow convinced us to try this dinner anyway, and we both instantly loved it.

My aunt died of cancer when I was in eighth grade, and my parents nursed her in our home at the end. To this day, I always remember her when I make eggplant parmesan.

I recommend serving this topped with your favorite tomato sauce and cheese, as well as a side of whole wheat pasta.

Eggplant Parmesan

  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 c whole milk
  • 1/2 c flour
  • 1 c breadcrumbs
  • salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  1. Cut the eggplant into thick, round slices.
  2. Beat together the egg and milk. Spread flour onto a sheet of parchment and place breadcrumbs in a shallow dish with spices.
  3. Add 1 tbsp olive oil to a large skillet and heat on low until oil shimmers slightly.
  4. Coat a slice of eggplant with flour (it won’t stick to the skin). Dunk in egg mixture, then coat with breadcrumbs. Place in skillet.
  5. Repeat until skillet is full. Cook eggplant until breading on both sides are golden brown (about 10-15 minutes).
  6. When you remove the first batch, add more olive oil before adding the rest of the eggplant.
Leave a Reply

