The most wonderful time of the year

I was killing time in Evanston this evening, waiting for a train, when a Wine Sale sign outside of World Market lured me in. Little did I know I would stumble upon the first official sign of fall: pumpkin beer. In the store. Available for purchase.

It may have been in the 80s today and muggy as all get-out, but as far as I’m concerned the appearance of pumpkin beer in the store is the first real sign of fall. Which also just so happens to be my favorite season, in large part because of the scents and the flavors that go along with it.

Last year, in attempt to prolong pumpkin beer season, I bought a bunch of it when the stores started transitioning to Christmas stuff. I rationed it through the long winter, spring, and summer. Andy thought I was out of my mind, but you know what? I don’t care. Tonight, I cracked open the very last pumpkin beer from 2009, finally at peace with the knowledge that I can once again buy as much of it as I want. And guess what? It still tastes good.

The six-pack I bought tonight is chilling in the fridge. Now, we just have to wait for the weather to catch up.

One thought on “The most wonderful time of the year

Leave a Reply

