Fresh salsa

Let me start by saying that I by no means refuse to eat salsa from a jar. I love a good tortilla chip topped with jar salsa and a heap of sour cream so much that it’s occasionally my dinner. However, in this season of fresh vegetable abundance, why not down as many fresh tomatoes as humanly possible?

Oh how I love tomatoes. I can’t possibly get enough of them, which makes this a very good time of the year for me. As much as I’m ready for fall, I’ll miss the tomatoes.

Anyway, back to the salsa. I have to admit that mine turned out almost too spicy (which I naturally managed to remedy with a healthy side of sour cream when I ate it). The recipe below cuts back on the jalapenos; eliminate them entirely if you don’t like spicy food. This makes enough to serve at a party, or just to keep in your refrigerator. One of the best things about making your own salsa is that you don’t have to feel too guilty if that’s all you have for dinner, because hey–there are fresh vegetables involved! As far as I’m concerned, you could do much worse.

Fresh salsa

  • 8-10 fresh Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1/8 c diced onion
  • 2 ears sweet corn
  • 1/3 fresh jalapeno, diced (or less to taste)
  • 1/8 c fresh chives, chopped
  • 2 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  1. Blanch the sweet corn and remove from cobs (if you need instructions, look here).
  2. Throw everything in a big mixing bowl. Make sure corn is completely cooled before adding.
  3. Mix, gently but thoroughly. Allow flavors to marinate for at least 1 hour in the refrigerator before consuming.
One thought on “Fresh salsa

Leave a Reply

