Tomato sauce

Have I mentioned how much I absolutely love tomatoes? I seem to crave them constantly and just can’t get enough of them. So it should come as no surprise that I’ve been trying to take full advantage of the abundance of tomatoes at farmers’ markets these days.

I used them in a big pot of tomato sauce in which I attempted to squeeze as many flavors of summer as I could get my hands on. Since I’ve never been brave enough to try canning (what if I do I wrong and give us botulism?!), I froze several large containers, officially maxing out the capacity of our freezer (also taking up space in there is sweet corn and a bunch of chocolate zucchini muffins).


I happen to think tomato sauce is a highly subjective thing. Everyone has their own ideas for how it should be done, and if you’re going to make it, I encourage you to add your own twists. That said, here’s how I made mine. I like it chunky, and also a little spicy. I was kicking myself for not remembering to buy mushrooms–they would be a perfect addition to this. I’d add them in after about 1 hour of cooking. You could also add ground beef, but I would finish the sauce first. Cook and season the beef and mix it in.

Fresh tomato sauce

  • 11 large beefsteak tomatoes
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/4 c fresh oregano, chopped
  • 8 cloves of garlic
  • 2 lemons, juiced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • sea salt and freshly ground pepper
  • cayenne pepper
  1. Chop 4 of the tomatoes and puree them in a blender or food processor. Add the puree to a large stock pot.
  2. Chop the remaining tomatoes. Add tomato chunks and onion to puree. Season with oregano, salt, freshly ground pepper, and a dash of cayenne pepper and bring to a gentle simmer over low heat.
  3. Once tomatoes are heated through, crush 4 cloves of garlic and add to pot. Also add lemon juice and olive oil. Cover pot and allow to simmer for about 2-3 hours.
  4. Chop the remaining garlic and add to pot. Adjust seasonings to taste. Simmer for another 20-30 minutes or until the fresh garlic has permeated the sauce. Serve immediately or cool and freeze to enjoy when tomato season is no longer upon us.


Leave a Reply

