Tomato and corn pie

Tomato and corn pie isn’t a recipe I came up with on my own, or even had any slight improvement to offer once I fell in love with it. The tomatoes originally drew me in–I love them, so I’m always looking for new ways to prepare them. The first time I made it, last year, Andy and I were both in heaven. The recipe is pretty labor intensive, I must admit, but so worth it.

After last summer, I decided that I would only make this when sweet corn and big, juicy tomatoes are locally in season. We’ve both been looking forward to it all year. Since I wasn’t in town for nearly all of July, today was our first return to our local farmers’ market. I excitedly grabbed my corn and tomatoes and headed home for an afternoon of cooking.

The main vegetable stars aside, there are some surprising secondary flavors. Fresh basil and chives from my back porch garden were key, as is fresh lemon juice. Shredded cheddar pulls everything together. I absolutely need to make sure I find time to make tomato and corn pie again this summer. It’s so worth it. And I highly recommend you do the same.


A couple of notes about the recipe, which you can view here. I did take the option to peel and seed the tomatoes. That step is the most work, but it’s worth it in the end. Also, you could substitute whole wheat flour in the instructions for the shell–I did, and it worked out just as well as using white.

We enjoyed this with a green salad and a refreshing glass of sauvignon blanc. I already can’t wait for the leftovers tomorrow.

One thought on “Tomato and corn pie

Leave a Reply

