Easton, Maryland

The brand new home of my sister! Amy was hired as an elementary special ed teacher in Maryland, and we couldn’t be more proud of her. This past weekend, Andy and I went there to help her get settled in to her new apartment. One of the most surprising things to me was the number of great restaurants in little downtown Easton. We enjoyed meals at The BBQ Joint, Washington Street Pub, Scossa, Wedge, and Lazy Lunch (which doesn’t have a website but does have great, fresh food) and didn’t have a single dud.

The BBQ Joint was cool because they practice the art of Low and Slow (my brother’s new hobby, which he demonstrated for us in Eagles Mere). The food there was excellent. We enjoyed pulled pork, baked beans, potato salad, cornbread (best cornbread I’ve ever had, hands down), and applesauce for dinner on Saturday. When we tried to go back for lunch Monday, we were so disappointed to find that they were closed! Washington Street Pub had good food and a good beer list–I imagine it’ll be a good hangout place for my sister and her roommate.

Of course, it wasn’t all eating. One big project we tackled was buying a bed and bed linens, and then getting it all across the Bay Bridge. Let’s just say this situation made me really nervous during the 5 miles of crosswinds as we worked our way from Annapolis to Easton!

Ravioli (Amy’s Rav-4) was a real champ during the process, and we made it back to the apartment with the mattresses in tact. I love the bedspread Amy chose:

She may be all grown up, but she still sleeps with a stuffed bear. These pictures are blurry because I took them with my iPhone. One of the many reasons I’m excited to upgrade to the new iPhone is I hear it has a great camera. But I digress. We had so much fun in Easton, and I can’t wait to go back and visit little sister again soon. In HER apartment. She’s always used to visiting us in our various homes–it was so cool that she finally got her turn to be the hostess!

And because I just can’t get enough of airplanes, I’m back on the road tomorrow for a short trip to East Hanover, New Jersey, for work. Fortunately it’s just one night. I already can’t wait to be home again. I have big plans to hit the farmers’ market this weekend and take advantage of all the produce that’s in season. I’ve missed a whole month of markets and have some serious cooking to do!

2 thoughts on “Easton, Maryland

  1. SO glad you were able to come and explore my new home for a few days! I miss you and can’t wait to see you in a few weeks in South Carolina!
    Love you Sister!!!

Leave a Reply

