Blue cheese and chicken therese

I like blue cheese. It’s tasty on occasion. I don’t love it, and I don’t seek it out as the ultimate king of my cheese-dom. But I don’t hate it either (like my sister, who when I told her what I’d made said, “That sounds disgusting.”). I think it can be good on salads, etc. Generally though, if I’m going to choose a soft, crumbly cheese, I think feta is my preference.

When I read the recipe for Blue Cheese and Red Potato Tart, I had to have it. Just the name is so lovely and sounds so patriotic. I briefly considered making this with feta instead, and I’m so glad I didn’t. The pungency of the cheese cooks down enough to be a subtle flavor while still providing that unique blue cheesy flavor. With feta, I think it may risk getting lost in the creamy goodness of the potatoes.

The only thing I ended up doing differently from the recipe was two layers of potatoes. It called for a pound of potatoes, which is exactly what I used, so I’m not sure why that happened but it was a good mistake. When I make this again, I’ll sprinkle a layer of blue cheese before arranging the top layer. Yum yum yum.

So then, I had half a container of blue cheese in my refrigerator to use, which sent me to my new favorite cookbook, Good to the Grain. If you don’t have it yet, buy it. You won’t regret it. I generally avoid spending money on cookbooks, in part because there is so much good stuff to cook on the internet, and in part because I tend to ignore anywhere from 50-70% of the recipes in them. But this book is well worth its list price.

In order to use up the rest of the blue cheese, I tackled the Blue Cheese and Onion Scones. Andy and I disagree about the pungency of these–he says he can taste the blue cheese and it’s a perfect amount. I think it’s very subtle and notice the caramelized onions more. There’s also a sweetness to these–they have about a quarter cup of honey and some raw sugar on top of that. Buy the book. Make the scones. Be happy.

To compliment my scones, I pulled out a very simple recipe a friend gave me years ago that I haven’t made in a long time. Something about the flavors in Chicken Therese just told me that it would be great with the scones. It was a good instinct. I’ve adapted this recipe quite a bit since the first time I made it. In the future, I think I’ll take the time to make the cream of mushroom soup myself. It seemed like a shame to have spent hours baking these beautiful scones from scratch only to serve them with a canned soup-based dish. Regardless, it was a good dinner (also including some green beans for a veggie).

Chicken Therese

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 10 oz cream of mushroom soup
  • 2 tbsp dry sherry
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  1. Heat oil in a deep skillet and add chicken breasts. Sprinkle both sides with salt and peppers. Cook chicken until lightly browned.
  2. Add onions to skillet and cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes (or until onions are tender), covered.
  3. Drain excess oil from skillet and lower heat. Stir in soup, sherry, mustard powder, and nutmeg. Cover and simmer for about 20 minutes.

You can also serve this over white rice or egg noodles. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

