Oatmeal pancakes

What do you get when you mix two of my very favorite breakfasts? Oatmeal pancakes! Add blueberries for extra summery flavor and you have a wonderful Saturday morning treat.

I’ve always prided myself on making pancakes from scratch. When I met my husband, he thought pancakes came from an evil yellow box that shall remain nameless (but you know the one). Thankfully I have since enlightened him. I think making things from scratch was one of the countless ways I was influenced by my grandmother, long before I was able to cook on my own. As I got older, though, I realized the sheer laziness inherent in using a box mix for something like pancakes–it takes maybe one smidgen more effort to throw those dry ingredients in a bowl yourself than it does to measure out the requisite amount from a box.

Anyway, enough of that rant. My personal pancake-making evolution has followed my personal whole wheat flour evolution. I’d adapted a Fannie Farmer pancake recipe to use whole wheat flour, and the results were good. But then I started thinking–I wonder if there’s a way to work oatmeal into pancakes? Perhaps I should experiment! And before I got around to doing that, I acquired a copy of Good to the Grain. If you are at all curious about cooking and baking with whole wheat flours, I highly recommend adding this book to your collection. It breaks the chapters down by flour type, which makes it easy to plan your shopping (and to avoid having three-fourths of a bag of some strange flour rot in the bottom of your pantry). The instructions are easy to follow and the photos are drool-worthy.

But back to pancakes. Good to the Grain has a recipe for Oatmeal Pancakes in its Oat Flour chapter. I should admit that I’ve never actually tried them with oat four–I just use whole wheat. The first time I made these, pancake nirvana was reached at our table. I’ve made them several times now (along with a few other adjustments to the recipe), and Oatmeal Pancakes are now my go-to pancakes. Aside from their divine taste, another benefit to these is that they’re more filling than your average pancake. Maybe a little more healthy, too. Enjoy!

Oatmeal Pancakes

Adapted from Good to the Grain by Kim Boyce

  • 1 and 3/4 c whole wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp raw sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon (more or less to taste)
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly (and more to butter your griddle)
  • 1 and 3/4 c whole milk
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c oatmeal
  • 1/2 c water
  1. Add oatmeal, 1/2 c milk, and 1/2 c water to a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, then simmer on low for about 5 minutes or until oatmeal is creamy.
  2. While oatmeal is cooking, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl (GttG suggests sifting the dry ingredients together, but I don’t own a sifter so I just whisk them together in a bowl).
  3. In a smaller bowl, combine the melted butter, 1 and 1/4 c milk, honey, and eggs. Whisk in the oatmeal and stir until well-combined.
  4. Gently fold the wet ingredients into the dry. Batter should be thick with a few holes in the surface.
  5. Heat a skillet or electric griddle and melt butter until it sizzles. Pour approximately two spoonfuls of batter per pancake. Flip when pancakes begin to bubble on the top. Repeat until all batter has been used. Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree oven until you’re ready to eat.

If you want add blueberries, here’s a trick that works with frozen or fresh (although if you’re going with frozen, I recommend freezing your own–I find that store-bought frozen blueberries are never very tasty). Once you’ve poured the batter onto the skillet, sprinkle the top of the pancake with blueberries. Then use a spoon to cover the blueberries with more batter.

You may need to press the berries into the pancakes a little or spread the batter around with the spoon. The extra batter protects the berries when you flip the pancakes. This is a trick I learned from my grandmother, and I like it because you can control how many berries are in each cake (ideally lots!) and you don’t end up with crushed or scorched blueberries.

Leave a Reply

