Herb garden

At the farmers’ market this past weekend, I picked out a few herbs to grow on our back porch. As city porches go, ours is pretty decently sized and gets a nice amount of afternoon sun. Last year I had a bunch of flower pots out there, and almost all of them thrived. I also had oregano and cilantro–the oregano quickly overtook the cilantro in their shared pot. I also think it got too warm for the cilantro, but as I don’t have any good, sunny windows indoors for a plant, it was the best I could do.

This year, I decided to do oregano again, as well as basil and chives.

I’m most excited about the basil (in the left pot). It already smells amazing, and it’s one of those things that I hate to buy because I can never use all of it before it goes bad. Now I can just wander outside and snip off a leaf any time I’m cooking!

We have yet to fill the rest of our pots with flowers, and I’m really looking forward to doing that. I’d thought about trying to grow tomatoes too, but I’m just not sure if they would attract rats. Ah, the joys of city life! I’ll probably save vegetables for when we buy a house with an actual yard. Until then, I’ll be cultivating my little herbs!

Leave a Reply

