Peanut chicken stew

Ok Chicago, you got me. When the weather was warm and sunny and wonderful in March and early April, I totally fell for it. I thought, SPRING! But no. We’re back to chilly, gray, unfortunate blah weather it seems. In which case, I think I’ll stick with comfort foods for a while. Because as much as the thought of going anywhere near a bathing suit makes me cringe, I just can’t see eating like it’s not chilly and gray outside.

Which brings me to a recipe my I got from my brother-in-law, Paul, a few years ago: peanut chicken stew. One great thing about this recipe is that it makes for excellent leftovers. If, that is, you remember to put them away. I don’t know what it is about this stuff in particular, but we have, on MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, managed to leave all the yummy leftovers sitting out all night. Inexplicable. The first time it happened I was ticked. The second time, I was ashamed. The third time, well, that was my husband’s fault.

Actually, I don’t think there really was a third time.

Ahem. Anyway, this recipe is all about the unexpected. Peanuts and chicken bring to mind Thai food (at least for me), but it’s more hearty and filling than most Thai. I made some changes to Paul’s recipe, the most notable being that I don’t put red peppers in it. If you want to add those, do so toward the end.

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3ish cloves garlic
  • 1 lb chicken breast, cut into small pieces
  • 3.5 c chicken broth
  • 1 lb sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into bite-sized cubes
  • 1.5 c green beans
  • 1/2 c peanut butter (or more to taste)
  • 1 tbsp hot sauce (more or less to taste)
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  1. Heat oil in large stew pot. Add onions and chicken and cook until chicken loses pink color.
  2. Drain chicken and add broth, sweet potatoes, and green beans. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes (or until sweet potatoes are softened).
  3. Stir in peanut butter, lemon juice, hot sauce, and garlic. Simmer for about a minute, then taste and add more hot sauce or peanut butter as you see fit.
  4. Serve over a bed of rice.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

